General education links

Introduction

On this page:

School term dates

OrganisationWeb address
Australian Governmentinfo.australia.gov.au/about-australia/special-dates-and-events/school-term-dates

Australian Curriculum, Assessment and Reporting Authority (ACARA)

OrganisationWeb address
Australian Curriculum, Assessment and Reporting Authority (ACARA)www.acara.edu.au
The Australian Curriculumwww.australiancurriculum.edu.au
My Schoolmyschool.edu.au
National Assessment Program – (NAP)www.nap.edu.au

Government education

OrganisationWeb address
Department of Education, Skills and Employmentwww.dese.gov.au
ACT Education Directoratewww.education.act.gov.au
NSW Department of Educationeducation.nsw.gov.au
Department of Education – (NT)education.nt.gov.au
Department of Education – (QLD)education.qld.gov.au
Department for Education – (SA)www.education.sa.gov.au
Department of Education – (TAS)www.education.tas.gov.au
Department of Education and Training – (VIC)www.education.vic.gov.au
Department of Education – (WA)www.education.wa.edu.au

Non-government education

OrganisationWeb address
Australian Association of Christian Schools – (AACS)www.aacs.net.au
Lutheran Education Australiawww.lutheran.edu.au

Independent schools

OrganisationWeb address
Independent Schools Australia – (ISA)isa.edu.au
Independent Schools Victoriais.vic.edu.au
Association of Independent Schools of NSW – (AISNSW)www.aisnsw.edu.au
Independent Schools Queenslandwww.isq.qld.edu.au
Association of Independent Schools of South Australia – (AISSA)www.ais.sa.edu.au
Association of Independent Schools of the ACT – (AISACT)ais.act.edu.au
Independent Schools Tasmaniawww.independentschools.tas.edu.au
Association of Independent Schools of Western Australia – (AISWA)www.ais.wa.edu.au
Association of Independent Schools NT – (AISNT)www.aisnt.asn.au

Catholic schools

OrganisationWeb address
Catholic Schools NSWwww.csnsw.catholic.edu.au
Catholic Education Commission of Victoriawww.cecv.catholic.edu.au
Catholic Education Archdiocese of Canberra & Goulburncg.catholic.edu.au
Catholic Education Tasmaniawww.catholic.tas.edu.au
Catholic Education Western Australiawww.cewa.edu.au
Catholic Education South Australiawww.cesa.catholic.edu.au
Catholic Secondary Schools Association (CSSA) NSW/ACTwww.cssa.com.au
Catholic Education Northern Territorywww.ceont.catholic.edu.au
Queensland Catholic Education Commissionqcec.catholic.edu.au

Home schooling

OrganisationWeb address
Home Education Associationwww.hea.edu.au
Australian Christian Home Schoolingwww.achs.edu.au

Education websites

Free, education resources websitesWeb address
ABC Educationeducation.abc.net.au
Air Force Centenary 2021 – ‘The Paper Pilots’ education projectairforce2021.airforce.gov.au/paper-pilots
Air Force Centenary 21 – an historical timeline airforce2021.airforce.gov.au/journey
Anzac Daywww.forteachersforstudents.com.au/site/themed-curriculum/anzac-day anzacportal.dva.gov.au/research-education/schools
Australia Dayaustraliaday.org.au/get-involved/school/
Beyond Money – earning > saving > spending – primary education programeducation.beyondbank.com.au
Book Weekcbca.org.au/cbca-book-week
Bullying. NO WAY!bullyingnoway.gov.au
Clean Up Australia Daywww.cleanup.org.au/resources
eSafetywww.esafety.gov.au/educators
Food scraps to compostwww.kesab.asn.au/fsc
Harmony Weekwww.forteachersforstudents.com.au/site/themed-curriculum/harmony-day www.harmony.gov.au/get-involved/schools
International Day of People with Disabilitywww.idpwd.com.au/resources
Junk Craft™www.kesab.asn.au/junk-craft
Litter Lesswww.kesab.asn.au/litterless
Metal Recyclingwww.kesab.asn.au/simsmm
Moneysmart Teachingmoneysmart.gov.au/teaching-resources
NAIDOC Weekwww.naidoc.org.au/resources/teaching-guides
National Science Weekwww.scienceweek.net.au/diy-science
Olympic Gameswww.forteachersforstudents.com.au/site/themed-curriculum/olympic-paralympic-games/ olympics.com.au/resources/articles/educator-resources
Remembrance Daywww.forteachersforstudents.com.au/site/themed-curriculum/remembrance-day www.shrine.org.au/remembrance-day-2020
Royal Life Saving Society – Australiawww.royallifesaving.com.au
R U OK? Daywww.ruok.org.au/education
Schools Tree Daytreeday.planetark.org/get-involved/schools
STUFF AT HOME – put it in the right binwww.kesab.asn.au/stuff
Tokyo 2020 Olympic Games – now 2021www.olympic.org/tokyo-2020
Tokyo 2020 Paralympic Games – now 2021tokyo2020.org/en/
Water – Let’s be sustainablewww.kesab.asn.au/sawater
World Kindnesswww.randomactsofkindness.org/for-educators

For your calendar – events

EventWeb address
Air Force Centenary – 2021airforce2021.airforce.gov.au/events
Anzac Day – Aprilwww.forteachersforstudents.com.au/site/themed-curriculum/anzac-day anzacportal.dva.gov.au
Australia Day – Januarywww.australiaday.org.au
Book Week – Augustcbca.org.au/cbca-book-week
Christmas – Decemberwww.forteachersforstudents.com.au/site/themed-curriculum/christmas
Clean Up Australia Daywww.cleanupaustraliaday.org.au
Commonwealth Games – Birmingham 2022www.commonwealthgames.com.au
Easter – April 2021www.forteachersforstudents.com.au/site/themed-curriculum/easter
Fathers Day – Septemberwww.forteachersforstudents.com.au/site/themed-curriculum/fathers-day
Harmony Day – Marchwww.forteachersforstudents.com.au/site/themed-curriculum/harmony-day www.harmony.gov.au
International Day of People with Disability – Decemberwww.idpwd.com.au/about
Invictus Games – May 2021invictusgamesfoundation.org/games/the-hague-2020
Library Lovers’ Day – Februarywww.alia.org.au/libraryloversday
Mothers Day – Maywww.forteachersforstudents.com.au/site/themed-curriculum/mothers-day
NAIDOC Week – Julynaidoc.org.au
National Children’s Week – Octoberchildrensweek.org.au
National Day of Action against Bullying and Violencewww.bullyingnoway.gov.au/preventing-bullying/national-day-of-action-against-bullying-and-violence
National Families Week – Maynfw.org.au
National Flag Day – Septemberanfa-national.org.au
National Kidsafe Day – Octoberwww.kidsafe.com.au/national-kidsafe-day
National Reconciliation Week – Mayreconciliation.org.au/national-reconciliation-week
National Recycling Week – Novemberplanetark.org/campaigns/nrw.cfm
National Ride to School Day – Marchwww.bicyclenetwork.com.au/rides-and-events/ride2school/ride2school-day
National Science Week – Augustwww.scienceweek.net.au
National Walk safely to School Day – Septemberwww.walk.com.au/WSTSD
National Water Week – Octoberawa.asn.au/nationalwaterweek
National Wattle Day – Septemberwattleday.asn.au
R U OK? Day – Septemberruok.org.au
Remembrance Day – Novemberwww.forteachersforstudents.com.au/site/themed-curriculum/remembrance-day www.shrine.org.au/remembrance-day-2020
Roald Dahl Day – Septemberroalddahl.com/home/teachers
Schools Tree Day – Julytreeday.planetark.org
St Patricks Day – Marchwww.stpatricksday.com.au
Tokyo 2020 Olympic Games – now July 2021www.forteachersforstudents.com.au/site/themed-curriculum/olympic-paralympic-games/ www.olympic.org/tokyo-2020
Tokyo 2020 Paralympic Games – now July 2021www.forteachersforstudents.com.au/site/themed-curriculum/olympic-paralympic-games/ tokyo2020.org/en
United Nations – 2021 International Year:
  • of Peace and Trust
  • of Creative Economy for the Sustainable Development
  • of Fruits and Vegetables
  • for the Elimination of Child Labour
www.un.org/en/observances/international-years
Winter Olympic Games – Beijing 2022www.olympic.org/beijing-2022
World Hearing Day – Marchwww.hearingawarenessweek.org.au
World Kindness Daywww.randomactsofkindness.org/world-kindness-day
World Mental Health Day – October1010.org.au
World Teachers Day – Octoberwww.aitsl.edu.au/world-teachers-day

Teaching associations

English and literacy

OrganisationWeb address
Australian Association for the Teaching of English – (AATE)www.aate.org.au
Australian Literacy Educators’ Association – (ALEA)www.alea.edu.au
English Teachers Association NSW – (ETA)www.englishteacher.com.au
Primary English Teaching Association Australia – (PETAA)www.petaa.edu.au

Geography

OrganisationWeb address
Australian Geography Teachers Association – (AGTA)www.agta.asn.au

Health and physical education

OrganisationWeb address
Australian Council for Health, Physical Education and Recreation – (ACHPER)www.achper.org.au

History

OrganisationWeb address
History Teachers’ Association of Australia – (HTAA)www.historyteacher.org.au

Mathematics

OrganisationWeb address
The Australian Association of Mathematics Teachers – (AAMT)www.aamt.edu.au

Science

OrganisationWeb address
Australian Science Teachers Association – (ASTA)asta.edu.au

Others

OrganisationWeb address
Australian Association for the Education of the Gifted and Talented – (AAEGT)www.aaegt.net.au
Australian Association of Special Education – (AASE)aase.edu.au
Australian Library and Information Association – (ALIA)www.alia.org.au
Australian Teacher Education Association – (ATEA)atea.edu.au
Adolescent Successadolescentsuccess.org.au