

www.forteachersforstudents.com.au

Copyright © 2017 FOR TEACHERS for students



### **DEMOCRACY DOWN UNDER**

### Power of three - solutions

# Before watching the videos and reading the fact sheet:

 Teacher check – these questions activate students' prior knowledge.

# Information from the videos and fact sheet

- 1. 1 January 1901
- 2. Edmund Barton
- 3. Six separate British colonies.
- 4. Parliament, laws, small defence force, taxes, stamps and railway systems.
- 5. Each colony built separate rail systems.
- 6. Five times premier of New South Wales. He wanted Australia to be a nation.
- 7. Defence, trade, immigration and foreign policy.
- 8. The following should be ticked:
  - South Australia was the only colony that allowed women to vote and they wanted all Australians to be able to vote.
  - Rich states thought they would have to share money with the poorer states.
  - People from New Zealand came to Australia to join the talks about creating a new nation, but decided not to join.
  - Arguments about where Australia's capital should be located.
- 9. Western Australia

- 10. The British parliament.
- 11. Victoria's parliament house.
- 12. Parliament house in Canberra (this answer is not in the videos and will rely on students' own knowledge).
- 13. Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander People.

#### 14. 1) Federal or national

Responsible for:

Pensions, defence forces, airports and air safety, family support, immigration and customs, imports and exports, post and telecommunications, passports, television and radio, and employment

#### 2) State

Responsible for:

Hospitals, schools, railways, roads, motor registrations, forestry, emergency services (police, fire brigade and ambulances) and wildlife protection.

#### 3) Local

Responsible for:

Street signs and traffic control, drains and footpaths, parks, playgrounds and sports grounds, animal control, libraries, rubbish collection, building permits and swimming pools.

#### 15. Federal

